Friday, January 13, 2012

2012 Beckenbach Book Prize Winners

The Mathematical Association of America awarded the 2012 Beckenbach Book Prize during the Joint Prize Session on Thursday, January 5, 2012, at the 2012 Joint Mathematics Meetings in Boston, Massachusetts. This year's winners were: 

Uncommon Mathematical Excursions: Polynomia and Related Realm (The Mathematical Association of America; 2008) by Dan Kalman.

Visual Group Theory (The Mathematical Association of America; 2009) by Nathan Carter.

The Beckenbach Book Prize, established in 1986, is the successor to the MAA Book Prize which was established in 1982. It is named for the late Edwin Beckenbach, a long-time leader in the publications program of the Association and a well-known professor of mathematics at the University of California at Los Angeles. This prize is awarded to an author of a distinguished, innovative book published by the MAA. The award is not given on a regularly scheduled basis, but is given only when a book appears that is judged to be truly outstanding.

No comments:

Post a Comment